Spare Room Gym is reader-supported — we may earn a commission from links here, at no extra cost to you. It never affects our rankings. How we make money
This guide covers seven fans for moving air across a spare room or garage gym: two Air King industrial fans (a floor model and a wall-mount model), three XPOWER fans (two air circulators and a misting fan), a Lasko floor-or-wall fan and a Newair misting pedestal fan. We do not rank them by CFM. Air King says its fans are tested to AMCA standard 230-99, while the XPOWER, Lasko and Newair pages we read state no test method. Pick by fan type, floor footprint, cord length and where you can mount it.
These are seven fans from four makers, aimed at people lifting in a spare room or garage who want air moving across the training area. Specs are printed as each maker states them. A fan bike is a different product: for a cardio machine with a fan wheel, see our best air bikes and fan bikes guide.
We read each maker’s product page on October 28, 2026, and the Amazon listing we link for each pick. Product specs are read from the maker pages, and safety was screened against the US Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) recall database (October 2026 search; no recall found for any recommended product). We don’t test the products we cover. We left out models whose exact Amazon listing did not show a readable price and an in-stock offer when we looked on October 28, 2026. Every pick has a numeric price band taken from an Amazon reading of the exact listing we link. Bands reflect observed selling prices at our last review. Offers change; check the listing. The picks are numbered for reference, not scored, and no star ratings or single prices are shown.
| # | Fan | Type | Size, as stated | Airflow, as the maker states it | Power, as stated | Placement, as stated | Price band |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Air King 9230 | Floor fan | 30 in | 7,400 / 6,360 / 4,980 CFM (high / medium / low); Air King says its fans are tested to AMCA 230-99 | 255 / 200 / 154 W | Floor stand, pivoting head | $300–700 |
| 2 | Air King 9020 | Wall-mount fan | 20 in | 3,670 / 3,330 / 2,940 CFM (high / medium / low); Air King says its fans are tested to AMCA 230-99 | 184 / 155 / 130 W | Wall bracket, no oscillation | $150–300 |
| 3 | XPOWER FC-300 | Air circulator, rack stand | 14 in | 2,100 CFM (XPOWER’s single airflow figure; no test method stated) | 1 A, 1/4 HP | Rack stand, 360° positions | $150–300 |
| 4 | XPOWER FC-420 | Air circulator, rack stand | 18 in | 3,600 CFM (XPOWER’s single airflow figure; no test method stated) | 2.8 A, 1/3 HP | Rack stand, 360° positions, sealed motor | $150–300 |
| 5 | XPOWER FM-68 | Misting fan | Not stated on the page | 1,000 CFM (XPOWER’s single airflow figure; no test method stated) | 0.55 A | 145° tilt, 56° oscillation, hose connection | $75–150 |
| 6 | Lasko 2265QM | Floor or wall fan | 20 in | Up to 2,500 CFM; no test method stated | 110–125 W | QuickMount floor or wall, pivoting head | $75–150 |
| 7 | Newair FMF2K5BK00 | Misting pedestal fan | 18 in | 1,600 CFM (“standard CFM”); no test method stated | 120 V; wattage not stated in the specs we read | Pedestal, adjustable height, oscillating | $150–300 |
Type: floor fan on a stand with a carry handle and a pivoting head. Specs (per Air King): a 30 inch blade and a 3-speed, 1/4 HP, 120 volt motor. Air King lists airflow of 7,400, 6,360 and 4,980 CFM at high, medium and low, power of 255, 200 and 154 watts, and noise of 75, 71 and 67 dB. The fan weighs 48.3 lb and measures 33.75 by 12.25 by 35.5 inches (width, depth, height). The cord is 10 feet, the switch is rear-mounted, and Air King lists ETL and OSHA compliance. Price band: $300–700.
Air King says its floor fans are for areas that need portable air circulation, and its list of places includes garages. Air King’s page says all of its fans are tested in accordance with AMCA standard 230-99, which makes its airflow figures the easiest to read at face value among these seven. On the day we read the listing, its seller was a third-party seller rather than the maker.
Type: wall-mount fan with a pivoting head and no oscillation. Specs (per Air King): a 20 inch blade and a 3-speed, 1/6 HP, 120 volt motor. Air King lists airflow of 3,670, 3,330 and 2,940 CFM at high, medium and low, power of 184, 155 and 130 watts, and noise of 62, 55 and 48 dB. The fan weighs 26.0 lb and measures 26.5 by 16.5 by 29.5 inches (width, depth, height). The cord is 9 feet and the switch is a rear-mounted pull cord. The box includes the wall mount bracket with assembly hardware and a secondary safety cable, and Air King lists ETL and OSHA compliance. Price band: $150–300.
Air King describes its wall mount line as made for industrial spaces with limited floor space, which is the reason to pick a wall model over a floor fan next to a rack. The fan head arrives already assembled; the bracket still has to be fixed to a wall.
Type: air circulator on an included rack stand. Specs (per XPOWER): a 1/4 HP, 115 volt motor drawing 1 amp, 4 speeds and an airflow figure of 2,100 CFM. XPOWER lists a 3-hour timer, 360 degree operating positions, a 10 foot cord, a weight of 13.0 lb and dimensions of 18.6 by 19.2 by 9.4 inches (length, width, height). The fans stack up to 5 high, the housing is listed as PP, the warranty is 1 year limited, and XPOWER lists ETL and CETL certification. Price band: $150–300.
XPOWER describes the FC series as utility fans for moving a large volume of air to assist in rapid drying or ventilating. The product page does not mention gyms.
Type: air circulator on an included rack stand, with a sealed motor. Specs (per XPOWER): a 1/3 HP, 115 volt motor drawing 2.8 amps, 5 speeds and an airflow figure of 3,600 CFM. XPOWER lists a 3-hour timer, 360 degree operating positions, a 15 foot cord, a weight of 23.4 lb and dimensions of 21.9 by 9.8 by 22.5 inches (length, width, height). The housing is ABS, the warranty is 1 year limited, and XPOWER lists ETL and CETL certification. Price band: $150–300.
XPOWER calls this the largest-airflow fan in its FC line. Like the FC-300 it is described on the product page as a utility fan for drying and ventilating, and the page does not mention gyms. On the day we read the listing, its seller was a third-party seller rather than the maker.
Type: oscillating misting fan that also runs as a plain air circulator. Specs (per XPOWER): 3 speeds, 145 degrees of tilt, 56 degrees of oscillation, a 115 volt motor drawing 0.55 amps and an airflow figure of 1,000 CFM. XPOWER says it connects to a standard garden hose with no water refills, has a sealed motor and a polypropylene housing, includes inline GFCI protection, and carries ETL and CETL certification. The product page we read states no blade size, weight, dimensions, cord length or warranty. Price band: $75–150.
XPOWER says the misting can be switched off so the unit works as a whole room air circulator. A misting fan adds water to the air, so decide where the spray will land before you aim one near bare steel or electronics. On the day we read the listing, its seller was a third-party seller rather than the maker.
Type: floor fan that converts to a wall-mounted fan with an included bracket. Specs (per Lasko): a 20 inch fan with 3 speeds, a pivoting head and no oscillation, and an airflow of up to 2,500 CFM. Lasko lists 110 to 125 watts (1 to 1.1 amps) at 120 volts, a weight of 16.0 lb and a size of 22 inches high, 22 inches wide and 12.63 inches deep. The cage, blades and stand are metal, the use case is indoor, the warranty is 1 year, and Lasko lists ETL certification and a fused safety plug. Price band: $75–150.
Lasko says the QuickMount system converts the fan from a floor stand to a wall-mounted fan in seconds using the included bracket, and its page names garages, workshops and basements. Lasko’s own store showed both colors as sold out or unavailable when we read it on October 28, 2026; the Amazon listing we link is the silver model, sold by Lasko Products - Official Store.
Type: misting fan on an adjustable-height pedestal. Specs (per Newair): an 18 inch fan with 3 speeds, 1,230 RPM, oscillation, adjustable tilt, 3 misting nozzles and a standard airflow figure of 1,600 CFM. Newair lists indoor and outdoor use, a 120 volt supply, a 3-prong GFCI plug, a 5 foot 6 inch cord, a weight of 16.00 lb, plastic construction and ETL certification, and says the fan covers 500 square feet. Newair’s site banner lists a 2-year warranty. Price band: $150–300.
This is the one pedestal-style pick here, and Newair describes it for patios, decks and outdoor entertainment areas as well as indoor use. The Newair specs we read give no wattage. The Amazon listing we link shows the same model number, FMF2K5BK00.
Fan type and room. The seven split into floor fans (Air King 9230, the XPOWER FC-300 and FC-420), wall-mount fans (Air King 9020), a convertible floor-or-wall fan (Lasko 2265QM) and misting fans (XPOWER FM-68 and Newair FMF2K5BK00, the latter on a pedestal). Match the type to where the fan will live: a wall mount keeps the floor clear beside a rack, while a floor or pedestal fan can move with you.
Airflow numbers. Do not rank these by CFM across brands. Air King lists three speeds with a stated test standard (AMCA 230-99); the XPOWER, Lasko and Newair pages we read state no test method. We found no source that gives a CFM-per-square-foot rule for portable gym fans, so we do not give one.
Floor footprint. Makers list very different sizes, from the Air King 9230 at 33.75 by 12.25 by 35.5 inches (width, depth, height) to the XPOWER FC-420 at 21.9 by 9.8 by 22.5 inches (length, width, height). Measure the clear floor beside your rack or platform first, and keep the fan and its cord out of the bar path and plate storage.
Wall or floor. The Air King 9020 ships with a wall mount bracket and hardware, and the Lasko 2265QM converts between floor and wall with an included bracket. If you rent, check your lease before drilling; the floor and pedestal fans need no wall fixing.
Cords and outlets. Where the cord is listed, makers give lengths from 5 feet 6 inches (Newair) to 15 feet (XPOWER FC-420); the Lasko and XPOWER FM-68 pages we read list none. Plan the outlet position before you buy, and route the cord away from walking and lifting paths so nobody trips on it.
Damp or outdoor use. Lasko lists indoor use for the 2265QM. XPOWER says the FM-68 has inline GFCI protection and a sealed motor, and Newair lists indoor and outdoor use for the FMF2K5BK00 with a 3-prong GFCI plug. The Air King and XPOWER FC pages we read say nothing about damp or outdoor use, so check the manual before using any of them in a wet garage.
Noise. The Air King pages print noise levels (62, 55 and 48 dB for the 9020; 75, 71 and 67 dB for the 9230, at high, medium and low). The other pages we read print none that we could use.
Safety. Our October 2026 search of the US CPSC recall database found no recall for any product recommended above. The same search listed older recalls of other fan models from two brands covered here: CPSC recall 06-085 (February 8, 2006; Lasko, General Electric, Galaxy and Air King box and pivoting floor fans, including Air King models 9500 and 9515) and recall 11-183 (March 24, 2011; Lasko and Galaxy box fans, models 3720, 3723, 3733 and 4733). None of the seven models recommended here is among the model numbers those two notices list. That search covers recalls only.
This guide is about moving air in the room. What goes under the bar is covered in our best home gym flooring guide, how to arrange a rack and bench in a small room is in our spare room gym layout ideas, the full garage setup is in our garage home gym build guide, and our complete home gym equipment guide is the place to start if you are still outfitting the room.
No. Air King’s page says all of its fans are tested in accordance with AMCA standard 230-99, so its three-speed airflow figures share a stated test standard. The XPOWER, Lasko and Newair pages we read on October 28, 2026 state no test method for their airflow figures. Treat each figure as that maker’s claim, not as a ranking across brands.
Read the maker’s page and manual first. XPOWER says the FM-68 connects to a standard garden hose and has inline GFCI protection, and Newair says the FMF2K5BK00 includes a 3-prong GFCI plug and is for indoor and outdoor use. A misting fan adds water to the air, so decide where the spray will land before you aim one near bare steel or electronics.
Check your lease before drilling. The Air King 9020 comes with a wall mount bracket and assembly hardware, and the Lasko 2265QM converts between a floor stand and a wall-mounted fan with an included bracket. The floor and pedestal fans here need no wall fixing.
It depends on the model. Makers list 33.75 by 12.25 by 35.5 inches (width, depth, height) for the Air King 9230, 22 inches high by 22 inches wide by 12.63 inches deep for the Lasko 2265QM, and 18.6 by 19.2 by 9.4 inches (length, width, height) for the XPOWER FC-300. Measure the clear floor beside your rack or platform and keep the fan and its cord out of the bar path.
Our October 2026 search of the US CPSC recall database found no recall for any product recommended above. The same search listed older recalls of other fan models from two brands covered here: CPSC recall 06-085 (February 8, 2006; Lasko, General Electric, Galaxy and Air King box and pivoting floor fans, including Air King models 9500 and 9515) and recall 11-183 (March 24, 2011; Lasko and Galaxy box fans, models 3720, 3723, 3733 and 4733). None of the seven models recommended here is among the model numbers those two notices list. That search covers recalls only.