---
title: "NordicTrack vs Peloton (2026): Which Cardio System Wins?"
description: "NordicTrack vs Peloton in 2026: a research-led head-to-head on subscriptions, bike and treadmill hardware, small-space fit and who should buy which."
---

[SR Spare Room Gym](https://spareroomgym.com/)

[Equipment Reviews](https://spareroomgym.com/best-home-gym-equipment) [Small-Space & Budget](https://spareroomgym.com/best-compact-home-gym) [Comparisons](https://spareroomgym.com/nordictrack-vs-peloton) [Guides](https://spareroomgym.com/guides/how-to-build-a-home-gym) [About](https://spareroomgym.com/about)

[Home](https://spareroomgym.com/)›Comparisons›NordicTrack vs Peloton

# NordicTrack vs Peloton (2026): Which Should You Buy?

By Marcus Bell·Updated October 2026·Research-led — published specs + expert reviews

**Disclosure:** Spare Room Gym is reader-supported. If you buy through links on this page we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. We don't list live prices — always check the current price and subscription rate at the retailer.

## The short answer

There's no outright winner — NordicTrack (with iFIT) and Peloton (with All-Access) are really two subscription ecosystems, and the membership is an ongoing cost on top of the hardware. Buy **Peloton** for studio-style classes, live community and a compact bike. Buy **NordicTrack** for stronger performance hardware, real incline/decline and immersive global routes. On both, classes and most connected features need an active membership.

**Read this first — it's a subscription, not a one-off.** Both brands are subscription-first. Peloton hardware needs an **All-Access Membership** and NordicTrack needs **iFIT** to unlock most classes and connected features. Cancel, and the machine drops to a basic manual mode — NordicTrack keeps a little more usable. Budget for an ongoing monthly fee (gym-membership territory) on top of the hardware, and check the current rate before you buy.

## At a glance

|  | NordicTrack (iFIT) | Peloton (All-Access) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Best for | Performance runners & cyclists; terrain realism | Studio-class fans; community; compact bike |
| Training style | iFIT trainer-led global/scenic routes + auto-adjust incline & resistance | Live & on-demand studio classes + leaderboards & gamification |
| Incline / decline | Aggressive — X24 bike −10%/+20%; treadmills −3% decline, up to +12% (2450) or +15% (Ultra 1) | Not stated on Peloton's bike pages; Tread Vision up to 12.5% incline |
| Subscription | iFIT — supports multiple users through profiles | All-Access — hardware-tied, plus App One / App+ tiers |
| Small-space friendliness | Treadmills are large even folded; bikes substantial | Cross Training Bike 4 ft × 2 ft footprint |
| Hardware warranty | Varies by model — see each maker page (X24 bike: 10 yr frame, 2 yr parts) | Bikes: 5 yr frame + 12 months on the touchscreen & most original components |
| Price tier | Mid → premium across the range | Mid → premium; rarely a true budget option |

How we compared: a synthesis of current published specifications and independent expert reviews — not a hands-on test. Confirm the latest figures and pricing at the manufacturer.

## Bikes head-to-head

Peloton's bikes are compact and built around studio classes; the NordicTrack X24 adds −10%/+20% incline-decline and SmartAdjust so a trainer can drive the resistance for you. For small rooms and class energy, Peloton; for terrain realism and heavier riders, the X24.

| Feature | Peloton Cross Training Bike | Peloton Cross Training Bike+ | NordicTrack X24 |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Screen | 21.5" Full HD, swivel (360º) | 23.8" Full HD, swivel (360º) | 24" HD, pivots |
| Incline / decline | Not stated on Peloton's product page | Not stated on Peloton's product page | −10% to +20% |
| Resistance | Manual, knob-controlled | Auto-resistance or manual | Silent Magnetic, 24 levels + SmartAdjust |
| Max user weight\* | 297 lb | 297 lb | 350 lb |
| Footprint | 4 ft × 2 ft | 4 ft × 2 ft | Larger, substantial |
| Frame warranty | 5 yr | 5 yr | 10 yr |

\*Max user weight is each maker's published figure.

CPSC has recalled the Original Series versions of both Peloton bikes for the same seat-post hazard: the original Peloton Bike (model PL01, [recall 23-201](https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls/2023/Peloton-Recalls-Two-Million-Exercise-Bikes-Due-to-Fall-and-Injury-Hazards), May 2023) and the Original Series Bike+ (model PL02, serial numbers beginning "T", [recall 26-067](https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls/2026/Peloton-Recalls-Original-Series-Bike-Exercise-Bikes-Due-to-Fall-and-Injury-Hazards), November 2025). Peloton's remedy is a free replacement seat post. If you are buying used or refurbished, check the serial number against the CPSC recall notice before you ride.

## Treadmills head-to-head

For running, NordicTrack's Commercial 2450 (4.25 CHP motor, up to 14 mph) and Ultra 1 (brushless 3.0 CHP DC motor, up to 15 mph) both add a −3% decline, with up to +12% incline on the 2450 and +15% on the Ultra 1. Peloton's Tread Vision lists a top speed of 12.5 mph and an incline of 0 to 12.5%; its product page states no motor rating and no decline. None of these are small-room friendly — even the folding NordicTrack stays large.

| Feature | Peloton Tread Vision | NordicTrack 2450 | NordicTrack Ultra 1 |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Motor | Not stated on Peloton's product page | 4.25 CHP | Brushless 3.0 CHP DC |
| Top speed | 0 to 12.5 mph | 14 mph | Up to 15 mph |
| Incline / decline | 0 to 12.5% incline; decline not stated on Peloton's product page | −3% to +12% | −3% to +15% |
| Screen | 23.8" Full HD, swivel (360º) | 24" HD, pivots | 24" HD, pivoting |
| Folds? | Not stated on Peloton's product page | Yes (still large folded) | Large footprint |
| Entertainment apps | Peloton Entertainment (All-Access Membership required) | iFIT + Netflix, Spotify, Prime | iFIT-focused |

Treadmill specs come from published sources; confirm the latest at the manufacturer before buying.

CPSC recalled the Peloton Tread (model TR02) in May 2021 because the touchscreen can detach and fall ([recall 21-129](https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls/2021/Peloton-Recalls-Tread-Treadmills-Due-to-Risk-of-Injury)).

## Pick the right one for you

Pick NordicTrack if…

- You want genuine incline/decline and terrain simulation, not just studio rides.
- You're a performance runner — the Commercial 2450 pairs a 4.25 CHP motor with a 14 mph top speed.
- You love immersive global/scenic routes with the trainer auto-adjusting speed, incline and resistance.
- You want a membership that supports multiple users through profiles.
- You're a heavier rider — the X24 lists 350 lb max user weight.
- A longer frame warranty matters to you — the X24's is 10 years vs 5 on Peloton's Cross Training Bike and Bike+.

Pick Peloton if…

- You want studio-class energy — live classes, leaderboards, badges and instructor culture.
- You need a compact machine for an apartment — the Cross Training Bike is 4 ft × 2 ft.
- You value Peloton's screen, audio and class software, plus a large secondhand market.
- You mainly cycle, or prefer instructor-led running over terrain simulation.
- Design and tight ecosystem integration matter as much as raw specs to you.
- You like that App+ is bundled with All-Access for workouts away from the machine.

## Where to buy

Check current pricing and any refurbished options at each brand. Budget for the hardware and the membership the connected features need.

NordicTrack

[Check NordicTrack on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/s?k=nordictrack+treadmill)

Peloton

[Check Peloton on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/s?k=peloton+bike)

## FAQ

Do you need the subscription for NordicTrack or Peloton?

For full value, yes. On both, classes and most connected features need an active membership — iFIT for NordicTrack, All-Access for Peloton; without one you keep manual controls and basic readouts. Treat the subscription as part of the purchase, not an optional extra.

Can you use a Peloton or NordicTrack without paying monthly?

Mechanically, yes — you can ride or run in a basic manual mode and adjust speed/incline yourself. But you lose most classes and connected features, and the large touchscreen becomes little more than a speedometer. NordicTrack keeps slightly more usable manual function than Peloton.

Which is better for running vs cycling?

For serious running, NordicTrack's treadmills (Commercial 2450, Ultra 1) list higher top speeds than the Peloton Tread Vision: up to 14 mph and 15 mph vs 12.5 mph. For cycling it's about preference: Peloton for studio spin and community, the NordicTrack X24 for simulated climbs and descents.

Which is better for a small apartment?

A Peloton Cross Training Bike has a 4 ft × 2 ft footprint. The treadmills here are large machines (the Commercial 2450 folds but stays substantial), so for tight spaces a bike — plus outdoor running — usually makes more sense than any of these treadmills.

Which holds its value and lasts longer?

Peloton has a large secondhand market. On warranties, the NordicTrack X24's frame is covered for 10 years and the Commercial 2450 carries a lifetime motor warranty with a 10-year frame, while Peloton's Cross Training Bike and Bike+ frames are covered for 5 years. Either way, factor the ongoing subscription into the true cost of ownership.

Have any of these machines been recalled?

Yes, on the Peloton side. CPSC has recalled the original Peloton Bike (model PL01, [recall 23-201](https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls/2023/Peloton-Recalls-Two-Million-Exercise-Bikes-Due-to-Fall-and-Injury-Hazards), May 2023) and the Original Series Bike+ (model PL02, serial numbers beginning "T", [recall 26-067](https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls/2026/Peloton-Recalls-Original-Series-Bike-Exercise-Bikes-Due-to-Fall-and-Injury-Hazards), November 2025) for a seat post that can break during use; Peloton's remedy is a free replacement seat post. CPSC also recalled the Peloton Tread (model TR02, [recall 21-129](https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls/2021/Peloton-Recalls-Tread-Treadmills-Due-to-Risk-of-Injury), May 2021) because the touchscreen can detach and fall. If you are buying used or refurbished, check the serial number against the CPSC recall notice before you ride. Our October 2026 search of the US CPSC recall database found no recall for the NordicTrack X24, Commercial 2450 or Ultra 1.

## The bottom line

Choose the *ecosystem* you'll actually use for years, not just the bike or treadmill. Want studio classes, community and a compact footprint? Peloton. Want performance hardware, real hills and immersive routes? NordicTrack. Either way, the subscription is part of the price — so budget for it. Still deciding what belongs in the room? Start with our [compact home gym guide](https://spareroomgym.com/best-compact-home-gym) and the full [home gym equipment guide](https://spareroomgym.com/best-home-gym-equipment). Want more options beyond just NordicTrack? See our [full roundup of Peloton alternatives](https://spareroomgym.com/reviews/best-peloton-alternatives-home-gyms), including budget and no-subscription picks.

References: [Peloton — Bike, Tread & membership specs](https://www.onepeloton.com/) · [NordicTrack — bikes & treadmills](https://www.nordictrack.com/) · [iFIT — membership & plans](https://www.ifit.com/)

Equipment Reviews

[Best Adjustable Dumbbells](https://spareroomgym.com/best-adjustable-dumbbells)[Best Power Racks](https://spareroomgym.com/best-power-racks)[Best Weight Benches](https://spareroomgym.com/best-weight-benches)

Small-Space & Budget

[Compact Home Gym](https://spareroomgym.com/best-compact-home-gym)[Budget Home Gym](https://spareroomgym.com/best-budget-home-gym)[Home Gym Flooring](https://spareroomgym.com/best-home-gym-flooring)

Company

[About](https://spareroomgym.com/about)[How We Choose](https://spareroomgym.com/how-we-test)[Contact](https://spareroomgym.com/contact)

Legal

[Affiliate Disclosure](https://spareroomgym.com/affiliate-disclosure)[Privacy Policy](https://spareroomgym.com/privacy-policy)[Terms of Use](https://spareroomgym.com/terms-of-use)

© Spare Room Gym 2026 · General fitness information, not medical or training advice. Reader-supported — we may earn a commission from links on our site, at no extra cost to you. Prices and subscription rates change; always check the retailer.

```json
{
  "@context" : "https://schema.org",
  "@type" : "Article",
  "about" : [ {
    "@type" : "Brand",
    "name" : "NordicTrack"
  }, {
    "@type" : "Brand",
    "name" : "Peloton"
  } ],
  "author" : {
    "@type" : "Person",
    "name" : "Marcus Bell"
  },
  "dateModified" : "2026-10-09",
  "datePublished" : "2026-06-21",
  "description" : "A 2026 head-to-head of NordicTrack (iFIT) vs Peloton (All-Access) connected cardio — subscriptions, bike and treadmill hardware, small-space fit, and who should buy which.",
  "headline" : "NordicTrack vs Peloton (2026): Which Connected-Cardio System Should You Buy?",
  "image" : "https://51638169.fs1.hubspotusercontent-na1.net/hubfs/51638169/spare-room-gym/homepage/srg-hero-spare-room.webp",
  "inLanguage" : "en-US",
  "mainEntityOfPage" : "https://spareroomgym.com/nordictrack-vs-peloton",
  "publisher" : {
    "@type" : "Organization",
    "name" : "Spare Room Gym"
  }
}
```

```json
{
  "@context" : "https://schema.org",
  "@type" : "FAQPage",
  "mainEntity" : [ {
    "@type" : "Question",
    "acceptedAnswer" : {
      "@type" : "Answer",
      "text" : "For full value, yes. On both, classes and most connected features need an active membership — iFIT for NordicTrack, All-Access for Peloton; without one you keep manual controls and basic readouts. Treat the subscription as part of the purchase, not an optional extra."
    },
    "name" : "Do you need the subscription for NordicTrack or Peloton?"
  }, {
    "@type" : "Question",
    "acceptedAnswer" : {
      "@type" : "Answer",
      "text" : "Mechanically, yes — you can ride or run in a basic manual mode and adjust speed/incline yourself. But you lose most classes and connected features, and the large touchscreen becomes little more than a speedometer. NordicTrack keeps slightly more usable manual function than Peloton."
    },
    "name" : "Can you use a Peloton or NordicTrack without paying monthly?"
  }, {
    "@type" : "Question",
    "acceptedAnswer" : {
      "@type" : "Answer",
      "text" : "For serious running, NordicTrack's treadmills (Commercial 2450, Ultra 1) list higher top speeds than the Peloton Tread Vision: up to 14 mph and 15 mph vs 12.5 mph. For cycling it's about preference: Peloton for studio spin and community, the NordicTrack X24 for simulated climbs and descents."
    },
    "name" : "Which is better for running vs cycling?"
  }, {
    "@type" : "Question",
    "acceptedAnswer" : {
      "@type" : "Answer",
      "text" : "A Peloton Cross Training Bike has a 4 ft × 2 ft footprint. The treadmills here are large machines (the Commercial 2450 folds but stays substantial), so for tight spaces a bike — plus outdoor running — usually makes more sense than any of these treadmills."
    },
    "name" : "Which is better for a small apartment?"
  }, {
    "@type" : "Question",
    "acceptedAnswer" : {
      "@type" : "Answer",
      "text" : "Peloton has a large secondhand market. On warranties, the NordicTrack X24's frame is covered for 10 years and the Commercial 2450 carries a lifetime motor warranty with a 10-year frame, while Peloton's Cross Training Bike and Bike+ frames are covered for 5 years. Either way, factor the ongoing subscription into the true cost of ownership."
    },
    "name" : "Which holds its value and lasts longer?"
  }, {
    "@type" : "Question",
    "acceptedAnswer" : {
      "@type" : "Answer",
      "text" : "Yes, on the Peloton side. CPSC has recalled the original Peloton Bike (model PL01, recall 23-201, May 2023) and the Original Series Bike+ (model PL02, serial numbers beginning \"T\", recall 26-067, November 2025) for a seat post that can break during use; Peloton's remedy is a free replacement seat post. CPSC also recalled the Peloton Tread (model TR02, recall 21-129, May 2021) because the touchscreen can detach and fall. If you are buying used or refurbished, check the serial number against the CPSC recall notice before you ride. Our October 2026 search of the US CPSC recall database found no recall for the NordicTrack X24, Commercial 2450 or Ultra 1."
    },
    "name" : "Have any of these machines been recalled?"
  } ]
}
```

```json
{
  "@context" : "https://schema.org",
  "@type" : "BreadcrumbList",
  "itemListElement" : [ {
    "@type" : "ListItem",
    "item" : "https://spareroomgym.com/",
    "name" : "Home",
    "position" : 1
  }, {
    "@type" : "ListItem",
    "item" : "https://spareroomgym.com/comparisons",
    "name" : "Comparisons",
    "position" : 2
  }, {
    "@type" : "ListItem",
    "item" : "https://spareroomgym.com/nordictrack-vs-peloton",
    "name" : "NordicTrack vs Peloton",
    "position" : 3
  } ]
}
```