The 7 Best Peloton Alternatives for Home Gyms (2026)
If you want the closest hardware-and-app match to Peloton without buying Peloton, the Schwinn IC4 is our best-overall pick — it's explicitly compatible with the Peloton app itself, at a fraction of Peloton's own hardware price. Want to avoid a subscription entirely? The Sunny Health & Fitness SF-B1876 is a genuine no-subscription option. Tight on space? The Bowflex C7 has the smallest footprint here. Already comparing NordicTrack's incline-capable bikes to Peloton head-to-head? See our NordicTrack vs. Peloton guide.
What "Peloton alternative" means in 2026 — and Peloton's own recall history
Most people searching for a Peloton alternative fall into one of three groups: buyers who want to avoid Peloton's ongoing subscription cost, buyers who want a similar connected-cardio experience for less up front, and buyers who already own a bike or app and want to know what else is compatible. Before comparing hardware, one fact belongs up front because it is directly relevant to anyone currently shopping for a connected bike: Peloton has issued two separate CPSC recalls for a seat-post failure — the original Peloton Bike (model PL01, recalled May 11, 2023, about 2.2 million units) and the Peloton Bike+ (model PL02, recalled November 6, 2025, about 833,000 units with serial numbers beginning "T") — both for the same hazard, the seat post assembly breaking during use and posing a fall and injury risk. A separate 2020 recall covered Peloton's PR70P clip-in pedals for a laceration hazard. We name this not to editorialize but because it is documented, current, and squarely on-topic for this page (U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, cpsc.gov, recall notices dated 2023-05-11, 2025-11-06 and 2020-10-15). Peloton's remedy for both bike recalls is a free replacement seat post; if you or someone you know owns an affected Bike or Bike+, checking the serial number against Peloton's own recall notice is the first step, not anything on this page.
With that noted, Peloton's Bike+ remains a widely-cited benchmark for connected indoor cycling — strong live-class content, a large rotating touchscreen, and an engaged community — and every alternative below is evaluated against that benchmark on hardware, app ecosystem, footprint and subscription cost, not against a rating we invented. We did not CPSC-screen Peloton hardware ourselves for this list because Peloton is the reference point, not a recommendation here; the recall information above is drawn directly from CPSC's own notices.
How we chose
We set out to verify 10–12 genuine, currently-sold connected or app-compatible bikes. For every candidate we confirmed (1) it is a real, currently-sold product with a resolving link — either a single-ASIN Amazon.com listing or, where no Amazon listing exists, the manufacturer's own current product page; (2) published specs (resistance type and levels, max user weight, footprint, app ecosystem) sourced from the manufacturer or a named independent review, never invented; and (3) a live CPSC recall screen for every brand named. That process cleared seven fully-verified picks. Three candidates from our initial research — the NordicTrack Commercial S15i, the Sunny Health & Fitness SF-B1805SMART, and the Yosuda L-001A — could not be matched to a single resolving product page (Amazon or manufacturer) at the time of writing and were dropped rather than linked to a dead or generic search page; we substituted a different, fully-verified Sunny model (the SF-B1876) to keep a genuine no-subscription budget pick on the list. We did not pad the list to a round number. Rankings rest on documented manufacturer and independent-review specifications — not hands-on testing by us; we do not hands-on test equipment and every entry states its basis plainly. No static prices or star ratings are shown; use the numeric price band and check current pricing at the retailer or manufacturer.
App ecosystem & subscription comparison
| Model | App ecosystem | Approx. subscription band | Footprint | Resistance |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Peloton Bike+ (reference) | Peloton | $25–75/mo | Large studio | Not specified in sources reviewed |
| Schwinn IC4 | Works with Peloton, Zwift & JRNY apps; usable with no app | Free – $25–75/mo (depends on app chosen) | Mid-size | Magnetic, 100 levels |
| NordicTrack X24 | iFit | $25–75/mo (iFit Pro) | Large studio | SMR magnetic, 24 levels |
| NordicTrack S22i | iFit | $25–75/mo (iFit Pro) | Large studio | SMR magnetic, 24 levels |
| Bowflex C7 | JRNY; also compatible with Peloton & Zwift apps | under $25/mo (JRNY, post-trial) | Compact-to-mid | Magnetic, 100 levels |
| Bowflex Velocore 16″ | JRNY | under $25/mo (JRNY, post-trial) | Large studio + lean space | Magnetic |
| Echelon EX-5s-22 | Echelon Fit | Not disclosed by Echelon in sources reviewed | Mid-size studio | Manual magnetic, 32 levels |
| Sunny SF-B1876 | SunnyFit (optional) | Free — no subscription required | Compact | Magnetic |
Quick comparison
| # | Model | Best for | Capacity | Price band |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Schwinn IC4 | Best overall alternative | 330 lb | $700+ |
| 2 | NordicTrack X24 | Best for incline & terrain training | not stated in sources reviewed | $700+ |
| 3 | NordicTrack S22i | Best multi-user iFit studio bike | 350 lb | $700+ |
| 4 | Bowflex C7 | Best for small spaces & streaming | 330 lb | $700+ |
| 5 | Bowflex Velocore 16″ | Best dynamic, leaning ride | 325 lb | $700+ |
| 6 | Echelon EX-5s-22 | Best Peloton look-alike | 300 lb | $700+ |
| 7 | Sunny Health & Fitness SF-B1876 | Best budget / no-subscription | 300 lb | $150–300 |
The 7 best Peloton alternatives for home gyms (2026)
Schwinn IC4 Indoor Cycling Bike
Best Overall AlternativeSchwinn's manufacturer documentation states the IC4 is designed to work directly with the Peloton app on your own device, alongside Zwift and JRNY — the most direct route to a Peloton-style class experience without buying Peloton hardware.
- 100 levels of magnetic resistance; belt drive, designed for quiet operation
- 330 lb max user weight; footprint 54.6 in L x 30.7 in W x 51.8 in H; dual-sided SPD/toe-cage pedals
- Bluetooth connectivity for partial app data streaming; 10-year frame warranty, 3-year mechanical/electronics, 1-year labor
What we could confirm: specs sourced directly from Schwinn's current product pages (schwinnfitness.com, 2025). No CPSC recall notice was found for the Schwinn IC4 as of this writing — absence of a recall notice is not the same as a guarantee none exists.
- + Manufacturer-confirmed Peloton app compatibility, at a fraction of Peloton's hardware cost
- + Works with zero subscription using its own console and external media
- – No built-in touchscreen — you supply your own tablet or phone
- – Flywheel weight is not explicitly restated on Schwinn's current spec page
Price band: $700+ Basis: manufacturer-published specs (schwinnfitness.com, 2025), current Amazon.com listing confirms model match.
Check price on Amazon →NordicTrack X24 Bike
Best For Incline & Terrain TrainingNordicTrack's flagship studio bike adds real powered incline and decline — a physical dimension Peloton's own hardware doesn't offer — paired with a large rotating touchscreen for iFit's terrain-linked workouts.
- 20% incline to -10% decline; 24-inch pivoting HD touchscreen; 24 levels of SMR digital resistance
- Effective inertia 14.7 kg; hybrid SPD/strap pedals; AutoBreeze fan
- iFit membership required for full library access; 30-day trial included
What we could confirm: confirmed live and "in stock" on nordictrack.com at time of writing. Maximum user weight was not explicitly restated on the current X24 product page we reviewed — flagged rather than guessed. No CPSC recall notice was found for the X24 as of this writing.
- + Real incline/decline simulates outdoor terrain, not just resistance
- + Large, immersive touchscreen matches Peloton's studio feel
- – iFit subscription is effectively required to use the terrain-linked content this bike is built around
- – Large, non-folding studio footprint
Price band: $700+ Basis: manufacturer product page (nordictrack.com, confirmed in stock 2026); no single-ASIN Amazon.com listing found for this exact model — sold direct.
Check price at NordicTrack →NordicTrack Commercial S22i Studio Cycle
Best Multi-User iFit Studio BikeThe S22i pairs the same incline/decline concept as the X24 with a well-documented spec sheet and iFit's multi-user profile support, useful for households sharing one bike.
- Up to 20% incline / -10% decline; 22-inch 360° rotating HD touchscreen; 24 digital resistance levels via SMR™
- 350 lb max user weight; footprint approx. 61–63 in L x 22 in W x 58–60 in H; packaged weight approx. 203–205 lb
- Dual 2.4/5 GHz Wi-Fi, Bluetooth headphone support, Google Maps route integration via iFit; 30-day iFit trial included
What we could confirm: dimensions and specs sourced from NordicTrack retailer/manufacturer listings; full multi-year warranty terms were not stated in the sources we reviewed — confirm before buying. No CPSC recall notice was found for the S22i as of this writing.
- + Highest confirmed max user weight (350 lb) of the studio bikes on this list
- + iFit's multi-user support suits shared-household use
- – Large studio footprint, heaviest bike on this list at 203–205 lb
- – Warranty terms not clearly stated in the sources reviewed
Price band: $700+ Basis: Amazon.com listing confirms model match to manufacturer specs (2026).
Check price on Amazon →Bowflex C7 Bike
Best for Small Spaces & StreamingThe C7 is built around Bowflex's JRNY platform but is independently confirmed compatible with the Peloton app, Zwift, and streaming apps like Netflix and Hulu — a genuinely dual-purpose machine in a smaller footprint than the studio bikes above.
- 100 levels of magnetic resistance, 40 lb flywheel; 7-inch HD touchscreen (Wi-Fi optional)
- 330 lb max user weight; footprint 48.1 in L x 21.3 in W x 57.5 in H; assembled weight approx. 111 lb
- Dual-sided SPD/toe-cage pedals; frame warranty 3 years, electronics/labor 1 year (5-year extended plan available)
What we could confirm: specs sourced from Bowflex's own current product-spec page (bowflex.com), confirmed live and in stock. No CPSC recall notice was found for the C7 as of this writing.
- + Smallest footprint of any studio-style pick on this list
- + Genuinely multi-app: JRNY, Peloton's app, Zwift, and general streaming
- – JRNY's free first year eventually converts to a paid subscription if you want to keep using it
- – No single-ASIN Amazon.com listing found for this exact model; linked to Bowflex directly instead
Price band: $700+ Basis: manufacturer product page (bowflex.com, confirmed live 2026); sold direct, not listed on Amazon.com as of this writing.
Check price at Bowflex →Bowflex VeloCore Bike 16″
Best for a Dynamic, Leaning RideVeloCore's signature feature is a frame that leans side-to-side in "leaning mode," engaging core muscles in a way no other bike on this list attempts — a genuinely different riding experience rather than another fixed-frame studio bike.
- Leaning or stationary mode; 16-inch HD touchscreen (22-inch version also available); 100 magnetic resistance levels
- 325 lb max user weight; footprint 59.8 in L x 24.1 in W x 55.3 in H; recommended workout area 84 in x 60 in
- Frame/mechanical warranty 2 years, electronics/touchscreen/labor 1 year
What we could confirm: at the time of writing, Bowflex's own 16″ console variant showed as out of stock directly on bowflex.com, with a similar variant offered instead — check current availability before you buy. No CPSC recall notice was found for VeloCore as of this writing.
- + Unique leaning frame adds core engagement no other pick here offers
- – The specific 16″ variant was out of stock direct from Bowflex at time of writing
- – Shorter warranty than the Schwinn IC4 or Sole-class competitors
- – Requires the largest workout area of any pick on this list (84 in x 60 in recommended)
Price band: $700+ Basis: manufacturer product page (bowflex.com); sold direct, not listed on Amazon.com as of this writing; 16″ variant showed out-of-stock direct at time of writing.
Check availability at Bowflex →Echelon Connect EX-5s-22
Best Peloton Look-AlikeEchelon's flagship bike most closely mirrors Peloton's own concept — a large rotating touchscreen bundled with a proprietary live/on-demand class platform — at a lower starting hardware price.
- 21.5-inch HD touchscreen, rotates 180° vertically for off-bike classes; 32 levels of manual magnetic resistance
- 300 lb max user weight (136 kg); SPD-compatible pedals (Shimano SH56 cleats) with adjustable toe cages
- Multiple seat and handlebar adjustment points (9 handlebar heights, 17 seat heights)
What we could confirm: specs sourced from Echelon's own product documentation; exact monthly subscription pricing for the Echelon Fit app was not stated on the pages we reviewed. No CPSC recall notice was found for the EX-5s as of this writing.
- + Rotating touchscreen and studio-style class library closest in feel to Peloton's own Bike+
- + Extensive seat/handlebar adjustability suits varied body types
- – Echelon Fit app subscription pricing was not disclosed in the sources we reviewed — confirm current cost before buying
- – No single-ASIN new-condition Amazon.com listing found; linked to Echelon directly instead
Price band: $700+ Basis: manufacturer product page (echelonfit.com, confirmed live 2026); sold direct, not listed new on Amazon.com as of this writing.
Check price at Echelon →Sunny Health & Fitness SF-B1876
Best Budget / No-SubscriptionNo touchscreen, no proprietary app, no recurring cost — the SF-B1876 is a genuinely self-contained magnetic-resistance bike with a device holder for whatever content you want to bring yourself.
- Magnetic belt-drive resistance, adjustable via manual knob; device holder for phone/tablet
- 300 lb max user weight; 3-year structural frame warranty, 180-day parts/components
- No required app or subscription of any kind — ride with any free content source you choose
What we could confirm: this is a different Sunny Health & Fitness model (SF-B1876) from the one in our initial research pass (SF-B1805SMART), substituted because it has a confirmed, resolving Amazon.com listing at time of writing; flywheel weight was not stated on the listing we reviewed. No CPSC recall notice was found for the SF-B1876 as of this writing.
- + Genuinely zero required ongoing cost — the only pick on this list with no app ecosystem at all
- + Compact footprint, easiest to fit in a shared or small room
- – No touchscreen, resistance display, or automated class integration
- – Flywheel weight not stated on the listing we reviewed
Price band: $150–300 Basis: current Amazon.com listing (2026), manufacturer-brand product, model SF-B1876.
Check price on Amazon →Related guides
Comparing NordicTrack's incline bikes to Peloton head-to-head? See our dedicated NordicTrack vs. Peloton guide. Want a simpler, non-connected exercise bike instead of an app-driven one? See our best plain exercise bikes for home gyms guide. For the full home gym equipment picture, start with our home gym equipment guide.
FAQ
Is there a good free or no-subscription alternative to Peloton?
Yes. The Sunny Health & Fitness SF-B1876 functions fully with no app or subscription of any kind — you bring your own content via its device holder. The Schwinn IC4 is also usable entirely without a subscription, using its own console, though its main appeal is that it works especially well with the Peloton app if you decide to add one later.
Can I use Peloton's app on a different bike?
Yes, according to both Schwinn's and Bowflex's own manufacturer documentation. Schwinn states the IC4 is designed to work with the Peloton app on your own device, and Bowflex's C7 is documented as compatible with the Peloton app alongside its native JRNY platform and Zwift. In both cases you adjust resistance manually to match class cues, since automatic resistance control is a Peloton-hardware-specific feature.
Has Peloton had any recalls?
Yes, two. The original Peloton Bike (model PL01) was recalled by the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission on May 11, 2023 (about 2.2 million units) for a seat-post assembly that can break during use. The Peloton Bike+ (model PL02) was recalled on November 6, 2025 (about 833,000 units, serial numbers beginning "T") for the same seat-post hazard. A separate 2020 recall covered Peloton's PR70P clip-in pedals for a laceration hazard. Peloton's remedy in both bike recalls is a free replacement seat post; check your serial number directly against Peloton's own recall notice on cpsc.gov if you own an affected model.
Have any of the alternatives on this list been recalled?
We ran a live CPSC recall screen for every model on this list — Schwinn IC4, NordicTrack X24 and S22i, Bowflex C7 and VeloCore 16″, Echelon EX-5s-22, and Sunny Health & Fitness SF-B1876 — and found no CPSC recall notice for any of them as of this writing. An absence of a recall notice in our search is not a guarantee that no safety issue exists; check cpsc.gov directly before buying any exercise equipment.
Why isn't the NordicTrack S15i, Sunny SF-B1805SMART, or Yosuda L-001A on this list?
All three appeared in our initial research as plausible candidates, but none resolved to a single, currently-live product page (Amazon.com or manufacturer) that we could confirm and link to directly at time of writing. Rather than link to a dead page or a generic search results page, we dropped all three and substituted a different, fully-verified Sunny Health & Fitness model (the SF-B1876) to keep a genuine no-subscription budget pick on the list.